"Haaretz" puts Hebrew website behind paywall

The subscription will cost NIS 39.90 per month or NIS 399 per year.

"Haaretz" will become the first Hebrew newspaper to charge a subscription for its website. Last year "Haaretz" put its English language website behind a pay-wall. The subscription for the Hebrew edition will cost NIS 39.90 per month or NIS 399 per year. Non-subscribers will be able to read ten articles a month for free. Subscribers of the print edition will have free access to the website, and subscribers of the Friday edition only will be eligible for a 50% discount for the online edition.

In a letter to readers, "Haaretz" publisher Amos Schocken said, "This is a change in the relationship between Haaretz and the readers of its digital editions." He added, "Israelis who have paid for digital content until now did so mainly for major international sites, for music, television series, or smartphone apps. Haaretz is the first Israeli newspaper joining this global trend of charging for full access to content on its digital platform."

Schocken added, "The production of digital content is not cheap, and it will only survive if there is financial compensation."

Published by Globes [online], Israel business news - www.globes-online.com - on February 26, 2013

© Copyright of Globes Publisher Itonut (1983) Ltd. 2013

View comments in rows
Update by email about comments talkback
Your name
Please insert your name
Hyperlink in a new window Hyperlink Right Left underline italic bold Bulleted List Ordered List Face1 Face2 Face3 Face4 Face5 Face6
Your comment

You comment was recieved and soon will be published.
In posting comments, I agree to abide by the Terms of Use
Globes encourages lively and frank debate, but posts that the editors consider merely abusive or otherwise inappropriate will be removed. Report inappropriate content
Thank you for posting your comment, which will be reviewed for publication.
Loading Comments...load
Load more comments
Twitter Facebook Linkedin RSS Newsletters גלובס MAD Conference 2017